Understanding SEER Ratings

Seer Rating Tells You About Each Individual Unit’S Energy Efficiency

When arranging A/C installation in Portland, it’s important to understand the SEER rating of the air conditioning unit that you are purchasing. The SEER rating tells you about each individual unit’s energy efficiency. Read on to learn how to choose an energy-efficient heater and cooling system using SEER ratings.


What is SEER?

SEER stands for “Seasonal Energy Efficiency Ratio” and describes how energy-efficient an air conditioning system is. This rating is important because it indicates the amount of energy a particular unit consumes with regular use, which impacts both your energy bills and your carbon footprint. The higher a unit’s SEER rating is, the more energy-efficient the unit will be—much like you may choose a car based on its “miles per gallon.”

What SEER ratings are common?

The minimum SEER rating is currently 13 SEER, and many modern central air conditioning systems used in new A/C installations can have a rating of up to 20 SEER. If you have an older air conditioner installed in your home, it likely has a lower SEER rating—9 or 10 SEER is not uncommon for units that are 10 to 15 years old. Keep in mind that air conditioners become less efficient as they get older. So while you may have purchased a 10 SEER air conditioner a decade ago, it may now be rated 8 or 9 SEER.

What SEER rating is best for a new A/C installation?

It is more cost effective in the long-run to purchase an air conditioning unit with the highest SEER rating possible. While highly rated units are more expensive, you’ll notice a significant decrease in your energy bills after you make the switch. Keep in mind that your new unit will only remain energy-efficient if it is properly maintained. Be sure to schedule regular tune-ups before each summer season and check your air filters on a monthly basis in order to get the most out of your new air conditioning unit.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *